Chicken Pot Pie & Freezer Meal In One

Thick and Hearty Chicken Pot Pie.

I was trying to make my Grandmothers Chicken Pot Pie when I stumbled upon this…  My family loves it!  I didn’t say that it was better than my Grandmas, {others might have} I will say this, I am no longer searching for the secret {that she can’t remember} to her Kids, Grandkids, and Great Grandkids most requested meal.

Chicken Pot Pie

Delicious

Slice of Chicken Pot Pie

Chicken Pot Pie Plate

I am sure this is going to start a Cook Off with my family, bring it on!  Everyone meet up at my place for a Bake off!  Family, food, and parties are the best things ever invented!  Heck, maybe we will have a block party while we are at it!

  • 2 boxes of Cheap Pie Crusts {trust me, the dollar store brand is better}
  • Chicken, 2 boneless chicken breast cubed.
  • 1 Can Cream of Celery soup
  • 1/4 Cube of Butter
  • 4 Tbsp Flour
  • 1 tsp Garlic salt
  • 1 Tbsp Onion Flakes
  • Frozen Mixed Veggies to your liking (I used 1/2 the small bag)
  • 1/4 C  Almond Milk/Milk
  • 6 Baby Potatoes, I like Red Potatoes
  1. Chop and boil Potatoes with skins on, just add a pinch of Garlic Salt.
  2. Coat large frying pan in a Tbsp Coconut Oil.  Add diced Chicken, dash of Garlic Salt, Chives {love Chives} then grill until almost cooked through.
  3. Set oven for 45o° place the Pie Crust in the pan.  {Then take your anger out on it for the day… stab it, poke it… just make sure it knows you’re the boss and you expect to not see one bubble, not one!} Place the bottom shell in the oven and bake for 5 min.
  4. Make a White Sauce. Mine was 1/4 cube of REAL Butter, while slowly adding little bits of Flour thicken it up.  Use your Best Whisker Ever {If you can’t find one, I will find one for you!  Yes, they are that AMAZING!  I just want to pass them out as I randomly skip down the lane, like flowers!  Day dreaming…}
  5. We are now going to add the Cream of Celery Soup to the White Sauce.  Mix until smooth, it will be really thick.  Pour in tiny amounts of Almond Milk or Milk while continuing to stir.  Make it more of a creamy soup consistency.
  6. Pour your Chicken directly out of the frying pan into the large soup pot. Add Water to the frying pan and scrape and mix all of the Chicken goodness {broth} out of pan. Pour it into the soup pot along with the Frozen Veggies, Potatoes and Seasonings.
  7. Pour filling into your heated pie shell, spread it evenly.
  8. Place your crust on top and add fun designs.  {I have barnyard cookie cutters so I like to have fun with the kids and make Chickens, initials.. whatever you want to do, food should be fun!}
  9. Place in the center of the preheated oven 45o° bake for 20 min.  After the 20 min. place a protective layer of tinfoil around the edges of the Pie Crust. Continue to bake it for 15- 20 more min. until golden brown.

 

BONUS FREEZER MEAL 

Freezer Chicken Pot Pie

 

This recipe will make two regular sized pies. I like to make my extra pie into a Freezer Meal. Place everything together, do NOT bake. The pie filling will already be cooked. You will just be reheating and cooking the crust later. Place it in a tin pie pan, piece together as before. Remember to add your ventilation marks now, trying to do it when it’s frozen is a beast! Cover it up with either a lid or foil and place in the freezer. Pull it out at lunch time, place it in the oven on Time-Delayed.  Tada, you are making dinner as you are relaxing at the pool soaking up sunshine, reading a great book and drinking Otai.  

 

2 thoughts on “Chicken Pot Pie & Freezer Meal In One

What do you think?