Taco Soup

39195D8F-EF08-4386-8B53-9699CB8913F6

My son requested this tonight, he is normally not a soup fan. So I jumped at the chance to make something simple that the entire family would eat without a fight!

I first had this soup at my cousin Amy’s house. She is someone I have always looked up to. She is an amazing nurse, has four adorable kids and her husband (my actual cousin) is an inspiring teacher. After I had tasted this I immediately knew I needed the recipe. Little did I know it was going to be one of the easiest most delicious recipes I’d ever come across.

This is perfect for the days you don’t have a lot of time, if you have unexpected guests for lunch or dinner, or just because it’s a Tuesday and you need something for “Taco Tuesdays”! This is kid friendly and easy enough you could teach your older children to make it themselves. As a part-time working mom of 3, I am starting to teach my oldest (9) how to start making a few meals. This being one of the first she can master.

You just need these few simple ingredients

  • 1lb ground beef
  • 1 package of taco seasoning
  • 1 can corn
  • 1 can tomatoes
  • 1 can broth (I use chicken)
  • 1 can black beans
  • 1 can kidney beans

Brown ground beef with taco seasoning. Put all can foods in a large pot. Do not drain any of them. Add ground beef and bring to a boil.

Serve with additional toppings of your choice. Our favorites are cheese, sour cream, green onions and tortilla chips.  When I am feeling something sassy I add Jalapenos for a kick.

Thats it, it’s just that simple!

What is your favorite fast go-to meal when you have no time?

What do you think?